GFMEDC Adds New Board Members, Elects Officers

Five area professionals have joined the Greater Fargo Moorhead Economic Development Corporation (GFMEDC) board of directors. The board also has elected new officers for 2017.

New members Kevin Biffert, Jim Sweeney and Jim Buus began their terms January 1. Biffert is the President of Fargo Automation, Fargo; Sweeney is President of Fargo Jet Center, Fargo; and Buus is Vice President of Goldmark Commercial Real Estate, Fargo. The GFMEDC board also recently elected Paul Richard and Brent Tieken to the board. Richard is the Executive Vice President Sanford Health, Fargo Market and Tieken is the CEO of Sundog Interactive. Both began their term in late 2016.

New board officers are: Jeff Volk, President & CEO of Moore Engineering, Chair; Randy Gerhold, Fargo R&D Site Leader, Microsoft, Vice-chair; Judd Graham, Fargo Region CEO of Bremer Bank, Treasurer; Marshal Albright, President & CEO of Cass County Electric, Secretary; Tammy Miller CEO of Border States Electric Coop., Past chair.

The GFMEDC relies on guidance from its board to achieve its goals and lay the groundwork for the economic health of Cass County, N.D. and Clay County, Minn. The board is made up of 33 directors. It includes a nine-member executive committee; ten at-large members elected from investor businesses; representatives of the Fargo City Commission, West Fargo City Commission, Moorhead City Council, Cass County Commission and Clay County Commission; one development council representative; the superintendents of Fargo, West Fargo and Moorhead public schools; and the presidents of Concordia College, Minnesota State University Moorhead and North Dakota State University. The presidents of MState and NDSCS are honorary board members. Board members can serve up to three terms.

The Greater Fargo Moorhead Economic Development Corporation (GFMEDC) is a catalyst for economic growth and prosperity. Using a comprehensive approach to economic development, the GFMEDC accelerates job and wealth creation in Cass County, ND and Clay County, Minn.